UTAH LEAGUE OF CITIES & TOWNS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES

LOCATION: CALVIN L. RAMPTON SALT PALACE CONVENTION CENTER, ROOM 253, 100 WEST TEMPLE, SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84101 & VIA ZOOM WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2024 @ 2:00 PM

IN ATTENDENCE:

EXECUTIVE BOARD EXCUSED:

Mayor Michelle Kaufusi, President, Provo Mayor Brett Hales, Murray, ULCT Treasurer

Mayor Troy Walker, 1st Vice President, Draper Mayor Dirk Burton, West Jordan

Council Member Kate Bradshaw, 2nd VP, Bountiful
Mayor Jeff Silvestrini, Im. Past President, Millcreek

EX OFFICIO

Seth Perrins, UCMA & Spanish Fork Roger Tew, General Counsel & Senior Policy Advisor

Pamela Spencer, UMCA & Vineyard

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Mayor Dawn Ramsey, UEOC, South Jordan

Council Member David Baird, Roosevelt

Council Member Dan Dugan, Salt Lake City

ULCT STAFF

Council Member Jessica Egbert, Mapleton Cameron Diehl, Executive Director

Mayor Donia Jessop, Hildale

Mayor Mark Johnson, Lehi

Council Member Kari Malkovich, Woodland Hills

Justin Lee, Deputy Director

Molly Wheeler, Deputy Director

Nick Jarvis, Chief Operating Officer

Council Member Kari Malkovich, Woodland Hills

Nick Jarvis, Chief Operating Officer

Angela Adam, Operations Coordinator

Mayor Logan Monson, Blanding

Mayor Lyndsay Peterson, North Logan

Karson Eilers, Policy Director

Cassidy Hansen, Marketing Communications

Council Member R. Scott Phillips, Cedar City

Mayor Michele Randall, St. George

Katie Harley, Events Manager

Mayor Mark Shepherd, Clearfield Meg Ryan, Senior Land Use Manager

Mayor Tami Tran, Kaysville

Liam Thrailkill, Policy Analyst & Program Manager

Council Member Mary Wintch, Manti Jared Tingey, Legal Director

Mayor Mickey Wright, Torrey Gary Whatcott, Senior Advisor

Gary Whatcott, Senior Advisor Todd Godfrey, Legal Advisor

Welcome and Introductions – Mayor Michelle Kaufusi, ULCT President

Administrative Items – Mayor Michelle Kaufusi, ULCT President

• LINK: Substance of matters proposed, discussed, or decided

• Conflict of interest disclosure: None

MOTION: Mayor Mark Shepherd

Approve December 11, 2023 Minutes

SECOND: Mayor Tami Tran VOTE: Unanimous Approval

ULCT Board & Commission Reports & Appointments –Liam Thrailkill, Policy Analyst & Program Manager

- LINK: Substance of matters proposed, discussed, or decided
- Childcare State Plan Steering Committee

MOTION: Council Member Dan Dugan

Approve Farmington Council Member Melissa Layton to be on the Childcare State Plan

Steering Committee

SECOND: Mayor Troy Walker VOTE: Unanimous Approval

Advocacy & Engagement Update –ULCT Advocacy & Engagement Team

- LINK: Substance of matters proposed, discussed, or decided
- Housing
 - o Governor's First Home Initiative, potential bills, ULCT Board direction and implementation
 - o HB 13: Infrastructure Financing Districts (LINK)
- Other bills that require first week consideration (watch for supplemental email on Tue)

• Links to website and bill tracker

MOTION: Mayor Troy Walker

Craft combination of Rumbling 5 with Rumbling 3 for legislative conversation

SECOND: Seth Perrins

VOTE: Unanimous Approval

FY 2025 Membership Dues - Cameron Diehl, Executive Director & Nick Jarvis, Chief Operating Officer

• LINK: Substance of matters proposed, discussed, or decided

MOTION: Mayor Troy Walker

Approve Option 2 and Adoption of Membership Dues for FY 2025

SECOND: Mayor Tami Tran VOTE: Unanimous Approval

Legal Update – Jared Tingey, Legal Director & Roger Tew, General Counsel

• LINK: Substance of matters proposed, discussed, or decided

MOTION: Mayor Jeff Silvestrini

Approve updates to Amicus Policy

SECOND: Mayor Mark Shepherd VOTE: Unanimous Approval

Executive Director Report - Cameron Diehl, Executive Director

- LINK: Substance of matters proposed, discussed, or decided
- National League of Cities Congressional Cities Conference, March 11-14
- Utah Policy
- June 2024 Meeting

MOTION: Mayor Troy Walker

Move June 19th Meeting to June 10th

SECOND: Seth Perrins

VOTE: Unanimous Approval

Other Business

Adjourn

• LINK: Substance of matters proposed, discussed, or decided

MOTION: Council Member Jessica Egbert

Adjourn

SECOND: Council Member Tawnee McCay

VOTE: Unanimous Approval